A Rhode Island woman's Social Security disability benefits denial was upheld by a federal court.
Untitled
Status and record
Your position
Do you support this decision?
An advisory read. Your position on a ruling is citizen opinion; it does not form a citizen mandate and is never a legal appeal.
Civitus citizens
Take a position above to see how verified Civitus citizens are weighing in. Positions stay sealed until you have one of your own.
The Civitus brief
AI analysis
Plain English
A Rhode Island woman's Social Security disability benefits denial was upheld by a federal court.
Why it matters
In Melissa B. v. Frank Bisignano, Commissioner, Social Security Administration, the U.S. District Court for the District of Rhode Island denied the plaintiff's motion to reverse the Social Security Administration's denial of her Disability Insurance Benefits claim, and granted the Commissioner's motion to affirm. The court found that the Administrative Law Judge's decision was supported by substantial evidence, including vocational expert testimony that the plaintiff could perform jobs such as office helper, small parts assembler, and hand packer, which exist in significant numbers in the national economy. The plaintiff had argued that the vocational expert's testimony about available job numbers was not grounded in substantial evidence, but the court sided with the Commissioner.
Who it affects
This ruling directly affects the plaintiff, who will not receive Disability Insurance Benefits. More broadly, it reflects the standards applied to Social Security disability claimants in the First Circuit who challenge vocational expert testimony at the federal court stage.
What happens next
Current
Decision issued Jul 10, 2026
Next
Possible rehearing
Parties can ask the same court to reconsider. Then: possible appeal to the circuit court.
View possible path
- Decision issued Jul 10, 2026
- Possible rehearingParties can ask the same court to reconsider.
- Possible appeal to the circuit court
Citizens vs Court
Civitus citizens
Sealed
Take a counted position to open the tally.
District court
Decision issued
Jul 10, 2026
Take a position above to open the comparison.
A comparison of public sentiment with the ruling. Courts are not subject to a citizen mandate, and judges are not elected representatives.
Take action
Courts decide cases; Congress can respond with legislation. Telling your representative is the civic lever here.
Public discussion
Add a tag
Citizen opinion on this ruling, not a rehearing of the case. Similar opinions on this case can open a solution poll.
3 similar opinions open a solution poll
Loading opinions
Deeper context
Long-form analysis, legal background, and source material
Read analysisAnalysis · Source
DEEPER READ
The central question in this case was whether the Social Security Administration's Administrative Law Judge made a legal error when he concluded, at Step Five of the five-step disability evaluation process, that the plaintiff was not disabled because she could perform certain jobs available in significant numbers in the national economy. The plaintiff, Melissa B., was forty years old at her disability onset date and had previously worked as a medical assistant, mail carrier, and bus driver. She applied for Disability Insurance Benefits based on plantar fibroma, arthritis, degenerative disc disease, and three herniated lumbar discs. Her claim was denied at the initial and reconsideration stages, and an ALJ denied benefits after a hearing. The Appeals Council declined to review the ALJ's decision, making it the final agency decision. The plaintiff raised one argument: that the vocational expert's testimony about the number of jobs she could perform in the national economy was based on the expert's experience rather than substantial evidence in the record. The Commissioner responded both that the ALJ's decision was substantively correct and that the plaintiff had forfeited this argument by not adequately challenging the vocational expert's testimony at the administrative hearing. The plaintiff countered that her attorney had initially raised the question, preserving the issue. The court applied the substantial evidence standard of review, under which the ALJ's factual findings must be upheld if a reasonable mind could accept the evidence as adequate to support the conclusion. The court noted that this is a relatively low threshold, and that it must affirm even if the record could arguably support a different outcome, as long as the ALJ did not ignore evidence, misapply the law, or improperly judge matters reserved for experts. Applying this standard, the court denied the plaintiff's motion and affirmed the Commissioner's decision. The source text does not detail a dissent, and the opinion does not change existing law. It applies settled standards for judicial review of Social Security disability determinations.
CITATION AND RECORD
Record source: CourtListener
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF RHODE ISLAND ) MELISSA B., ) Plaintiff, ) ) v. ) C.A. No. 25-cv-681-JJM-AEM ) FRANK BISIGNANO, Commissioner, ) Social Security Administration, ) Defendant. ) ) ORDER Plaintiff Melissa B. brings this action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 405(g), seeking to reverse the decision of the Commissioner of the Social Security Administration (“the Commissioner”), in which he denied Melissa’s claim for Disability Insurance Benefits (“DIB”). ECF No. 8. In response, the Commissioner moves this Court to enter an order affirming his decision. ECF No. 9. After a thorough review of the record, and for the reasons stated below, the Court DENIES Melissa’s Motion to Reverse and GRANTS the Commissioner’s Motion to Affirm. I. BACKGROUND Melissa was forty years old at her onset date of December 28, 2020. She has a high school education and has worked in the past as a medical assistant, mail carrier, and bus driver. She applied for DIB in March 2023 due to her plantar fibroma, arthritis, degenerative disc disease, and three herniated lumbar discs. Her claim was initially denied, and again, upon reconsideration. Melissa requested a hearing with an Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”); after the hearing, the ALJ issued a decision denying her benefits. The Appeals Council denied Melissa’s request to review the ALJ’s unfavorable decision, making the ALJ’s decision the final decision of the Commissioner. Melissa then filed this lawsuit. II. STANDARD OF REVIEW “The findings of the Commissioner of Social Security as to any fact, if supported by substantial evidence, shall be conclusive.” 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). “[W]hatever the meaning of ‘substantial’ in other contexts, the threshold for such evidentiary sufficiency is not high.” , 587 U.S. 97, 103 (2019). Substantial evidence “means—and means only—‘such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.’” (quoting , 305 U.S. 197, 229 (1938)). The Court “must uphold the Secretary’s findings ... if a reasonable mind, reviewing the evidence in the record as a whole, could accept it as adequate to support [their] conclusion.” , 647 F.2d 218, 222- 23 (1st Cir. 1981) (citing , 305 U.S. at 229). If substantial evidence supports the Commissioner’s decision, the Court should affirm it, “even if the record arguably could justify a different conclusion ....” , 819 F.2d 1, 3 (1st Cir. 1987) (citing , 654 F.2d 127, 128 (1st Cir. 1981)). That said, the ALJ’s findings are “not conclusive when derived by ignoring evidence, misapplying the law, or judging matters entrusted to experts.” , 172 F.3d 31, 35 (1st Cir. 1999). As a final note, “[t]he First Circuit has stated that courts should ensure ‘a just outcome’ in Social Security disability claims.” , 924 F. Supp. 2d 386, 391-92 (D.R.I. 2013) (quoting , 525 F.2d 158, 161 (1st Cir. 1975)). “[T]he Social Security Act is to be construed liberally to effectuate its general purpose of easing the insecurity of life.” , 349 F.2d 494, 496 (1st Cir. 1965) (citing , 311 F.2d 757 (5th Cir. 1963)). III. APPLICABLE LAW The law defines disability as the inability to do any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment that can be expected to result in death or that has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than twelve months. 42 U.S.C. § 1382c(a)(3)(B); 20 C.F.R. § 416.905. The impairment must be severe, making the claimant unable to do previous work, or any other substantial gainful activity in the national economy. 42 U.S.C. § 1382c(a)(3)(B); 20 C.F.R. §§ 416.905-11. In evaluating an initial disability claim, the ALJ must follow a five-step process. 20 C.F.R. §§ 416.920(a)(4)(i)-(v).1 The claimant bears the burden of proof 1 First, if a claimant is working at a substantial gainful activity, she is not disabled. Second, if a claimant does not have any impairment or combination of impairments, which significantly limit her physical or mental ability to do basic work activities, then she does not have a severe impairment and is not disabled. Third, if a claimant’s impairments meet or equal an impairment listed in 20 C.F.R. Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix 1, she is disabled. Fourth, if a claimant’s impairments do not prevent her from doing past relevant work, she is not disabled. Fifth, if a claimant’s impairments (considering her RFC, age, education, and past work) prevent her from doing other work in the national economy, then she is disabled. at Steps One through Four, but the Commissioner bears the burden at Step Five. , 959 F.3d 431, 434 (1st Cir. 2020). At Step Five here, the ALJ determined that Melissa did not have an impairment or combination of impairments that meets or medically equals the severity one of the listed impairments and then determined that she had the residual functional capacity (“RFC”) to perform light work with certain exceptions. The ALJ concluded that she was not disabled because, based on her age, education, work experience, RFC, and the testimony of a vocational expert, she could work jobs such as an office helper, small parts assembler, and hand packer and those jobs exist in significant numbers in the national economy. IV. DISCUSSION Here, Melissa presents one claim of error. She argues that the ALJ erred when he determined at Step Five that she was not disabled and issued a decision that was not based on substantial evidence. Specifically, she argues that the vocational expert’s (“VE”) testimony about job numbers available in the national economy was based on their experience, not on substantial evidence in the record. The Commissioner argues that the ALJ’s decision should be affirmed not only on substance but also because he asserts that Melissa failed to timely challenge the VE’s testimony before this action. A. Waiver The Commissioner argues that Melissa forfeited her argument about the source and methodology of the VE’s job numbers because she had the opportunity to question them at the hearing and failed to do so. Melissa argues that her attorney did ask the question initially so preserved her argument on this issue. The ALJ found that Melissa was not disabled because there were a significant number of jobs she could perform in the national
Sources
- Official opinionPrimary record
Public record. Timeline facts only; no accusation of wrongdoing. Advisory citizen opinion does not form a citizen mandate.