A blind man's disability benefits claim was denied after a second federal review.
Untitled
Status and record
Your position
Do you support this decision?
An advisory read. Your position on a ruling is citizen opinion; it does not form a citizen mandate and is never a legal appeal.
Civitus citizens
Take a position above to see how verified Civitus citizens are weighing in. Positions stay sealed until you have one of your own.
The Civitus brief
AI analysis
Plain English
A blind man's disability benefits claim was denied after a second federal review.
Why it matters
In Ryan F. v. Commissioner of the Social Security Administration (U.S. District Court, D. Oregon, Case No. 3:25-cv-01535-SB), U.S. Magistrate Judge Beckerman upheld the Social Security Administration's denial of Disability Insurance Benefits to the plaintiff, who alleged disability due to glaucoma, legal blindness, and headaches. The court found that the ALJ's April 14, 2025 decision was free of harmful legal error and supported by substantial evidence in the record. This ruling came after a prior federal court had already reversed and remanded the case once, leading to a second administrative hearing in December 2024.
Who it affects
This ruling directly affects the plaintiff, who will not receive Social Security Disability Insurance Benefits as a result. More broadly, it reflects the legal standards that apply to anyone who appeals a Social Security disability denial to federal court.
What happens next
Current
Decision issued Aug 24, 2026
Next
Possible rehearing
Parties can ask the same court to reconsider. Then: possible appeal to the circuit court.
View possible path
- Decision issued Aug 24, 2026
- Possible rehearingParties can ask the same court to reconsider.
- Possible appeal to the circuit court
Citizens vs Court
Civitus citizens
Sealed
Take a counted position to open the tally.
District court
Decision issued
Aug 24, 2026
Take a position above to open the comparison.
A comparison of public sentiment with the ruling. Courts are not subject to a citizen mandate, and judges are not elected representatives.
Take action
Courts decide cases; Congress can respond with legislation. Telling your representative is the civic lever here.
Public discussion
Add a tag
Citizen opinion on this ruling, not a rehearing of the case. Similar opinions on this case can open a solution poll.
3 similar opinions open a solution poll
Loading opinions
Deeper context
Long-form analysis, legal background, and source material
Read analysisAnalysis · Source
DEEPER READ
The central question was whether the Social Security Administration's denial of Disability Insurance Benefits to the plaintiff, a man born in 1980 who alleged disability beginning January 15, 2018 due to glaucoma, legal blindness, and headaches, was legally sound and supported by the evidence. The court concluded that it was, affirming the Commissioner's decision to deny benefits. The case had a lengthy procedural history. After the SSA denied the plaintiff's application initially and on reconsideration, an Administrative Law Judge held a hearing in August 2021 and denied benefits. The Appeals Council declined review. The plaintiff then went to federal court, and in March 2024 a district judge reversed that decision and sent the case back for another look. A new ALJ held a second hearing in December 2024, this time with testimony from the plaintiff, a vocational expert, and an impartial medical expert named Dr. W. Benton Boone. That ALJ again denied benefits in April 2025, and the plaintiff returned to federal court. The court applied the standard rules for reviewing Social Security decisions. It noted that courts defer heavily to the agency on credibility and factual disputes, and will only overturn a decision if it lacks substantial evidence or involves a legal error that actually affected the outcome. Applying those standards, the court found no basis to disturb the ALJ's second denial. The source text does not describe a dissent, and the opinion does not detail the specific factual findings or medical evidence that the ALJ relied upon beyond what is noted above. Going forward, this ruling means the plaintiff does not receive Disability Insurance Benefits through this legal action. The decision reinforces the limited scope of federal court review in Social Security cases, emphasizing that courts defer to agency expertise on individualized disability determinations.
CITATION AND RECORD
Record source: CourtListener
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF OREGON RYAN F.,1 Case No. 3:25-cv-01535-SB Plaintiff, OPINION AND ORDER v. COMMISSIONER SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION, Defendant. BECKERMAN, U.S. Magistrate Judge. Ryan F. (“Plaintiff”) filed this appeal challenging the Commissioner of the Social Security Administration’s (“Commissioner”) denial of his application for Disability Insurance Benefits (“DIB”) under Title II of the Social Security Act. The Court has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). For the reasons explained below, the Court concludes that the Commissioner’s decision is free of harmful legal error and supported by substantial evidence in the record. 1 In the interest of privacy, this opinion uses only the first name and the initial of the last name of the non-governmental party. STANDARD OF REVIEW “As with other agency decisions, federal court review of social security determinations is limited.” Treichler v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec. Admin., 775 F.3d 1090, 1098 (9th Cir. 2014). A federal court’s review is limited because “[f]or highly fact-intensive individualized determinations like a claimant’s entitlement to disability benefits, Congress places a premium upon agency expertise, and, for the sake of uniformity, it is usually better to minimize the opportunity for reviewing courts to substitute their discretion for that of the agency.” Id. (quoting Consolo v. Fed. Mar. Comm’n, 383 U.S. 607, 621 (1966)). Adhering to this principle, courts “follow three important rules” in reviewing social security determinations. Brown-Hunter v. Colvin, 806 F.3d 487, 492 (9th Cir. 2015). First, courts “leave it to the [agency] to determine credibility, resolve conflicts in the testimony, and resolve ambiguities in the record.” Id. (quoting Treichler, 775 F.3d at 1098). Second, courts “will ‘disturb the Commissioner’s decision to deny benefits only if it is not supported by substantial evidence or is based on legal error.’” Id. (quoting Treichler, 775 F.3d at 1098). Third, if the agency “‘commits legal error, [courts] uphold the decision where that error is harmless,’ meaning that ‘it is inconsequential to the ultimate nondisability determination,’ or that, despite the legal error, ‘the agency’s path may reasonably be discerned, even if the agency explains its decision with less than ideal clarity.’” Id. (quoting Treichler, 775 F.3d at 1098); see also Smith v. Kijakazi, 14 F.4th 1108, 1111 (9th Cir. 2021) (“And even where this modest [substantial evidence] burden is not met, [courts] will not reverse an [agency] decision where the error was harmless.” (citing Molina v. Astrue, 674 F.3d 1104, 1111 (9th Cir. 2012), superseded on other grounds by regulation as recognized in Farlow v. Kijakazi, 53 F.4th 485, 487 (9th Cir. 2022))). /// BACKGROUND I. PLAINTIFF’S APPLICATION Plaintiff was born in October 1980, making him thirty-seven years old on January 15, 2018, his alleged disability onset date. (Tr. 60, 73, 648.) Plaintiff is a high school graduate who has no past relevant work experience. (Id. at 206, 631, 667-68.) In his DIB application, Plaintiff alleges disability due to glaucoma, “legal blindness,” and headaches. (Id. at 61, 74, 205, 663-64.) The Commissioner denied Plaintiff’s application initially and upon reconsideration, and on November 19, 2020, Plaintiff requested a hearing before an Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”). (Id. at 13.) On August 11, 2021, Plaintiff and an impartial vocational expert (“VE”) testified at a telephonic hearing before an ALJ. (Id. at 13, 29-58, 823-52.) On September 22, 2021, the ALJ issued a decision denying Plaintiff’s application. (Id. at 13-23.) The Appeals Council denied Plaintiff’s request for review on August 10, 2022, making the ALJ’s decision the final decision of the Commissioner. (Id. at 1-6.) Plaintiff then sought judicial review of that decision. On March 14, 2024, a judge from this district issued an Opinion and Order reversing the Commissioner’s decision and remanding Plaintiff’s case for further proceedings. (Id. at 710-23.) The district court entered judgment that same day and the Appeals Council’s remand order followed on June 27, 2024. (Id. at 724-29.) Later that year, on December 10, 2024, Plaintiff, a VE, and an impartial medical expert, W. Benton Boone, M.D. (“Dr. Boone”), testified at a second hearing before a new ALJ. (Id. at 643-72.) The new ALJ issued a decision on April 14, 2025, denying Plaintiff’s DIB application. (Id. at 619-33.) Plaintiff requested and received an extension of time in which to appeal and then filed the present action in federal court. (Id. at 614- 15.) /// II. THE SEQUENTIAL PROCESS A claimant is considered disabled if he or she is unable to “engage in any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment which . . . has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than [twelve] months[.]” 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(1)(A). “Social Security Regulations set out a five-step sequential process for determining whether an applicant is disabled within the meaning of the Social Security Act.” Keyser v. Comm’r Soc. Sec. Admin., 648 F.3d 721, 724 (9th Cir. 2011) (citation omitted). Those five steps are: (1) whether the claimant is engaged in substantial gainful activity; (2) whether the claimant has a severe impairment; (3) whether the impairment meets or equals a listed impairment; (4) whether the claimant can return to any past relevant work; and (5) whether the claimant can perform other work that exists in significant numbers in the national economy. Id. at 724-25. To establish a “prima facie case of a disability,” a claimant must demonstrate “at steps one through four of the sequential evaluation process that she suffers from a severe impairment that prevents her from doing any work she has done in the past, or that she has a severe impairment and has no relevant past work[.]” White v. Kijakazi, 44 F.4th 828, 833 (9th Cir. 2022) (citing Tackett v. Apfel, 180 F.3d 1094, 1098 (9th Cir. 1999)). If the claimant does so, “[t]he burden then shifts to the Commissioner at step five to establish that the claimant can perform a ‘significant number[]’ of jobs in the national economy given the claimant’s physical and mental limitations, age, education, and work experience.” Id. (first quoting 20 C.F.R. § 416.960(c)(2); and then citing Thomas v. Barnhart, 278 F.3d 947, 955 (9th Cir. 2002)). “If the Commissioner meets [his] burden, the claimant has failed to establish disability.” Thomas, 278 F.3d at 955 (simplified). ///
Sources
- Official opinionPrimary record
Public record. Timeline facts only; no accusation of wrongdoing. Advisory citizen opinion does not form a citizen mandate.