A woman with PTSD and depression was found able to work and denied disability benefits.
Untitled
Status and record
Your position
Do you support this decision?
An advisory read. Your position on a ruling is citizen opinion; it does not form a citizen mandate and is never a legal appeal.
Civitus citizens
Take a position above to see how verified Civitus citizens are weighing in. Positions stay sealed until you have one of your own.
The Civitus brief
AI analysis
Plain English
A woman with PTSD and depression was found able to work and denied disability benefits.
Why it matters
In Myriah M. v. Commissioner, Social Security Administration, the U.S. District Court for the District of Oregon affirmed the Social Security Administration's decision to deny disability insurance benefits to the plaintiff. The Administrative Law Judge had found that, despite her severe mental health impairments including PTSD, depression, anxiety, and ADHD, the plaintiff retained the ability to perform certain jobs existing in significant numbers in the national economy, such as hand packager, warehouse worker, and food service worker.
Who it affects
This ruling directly affects the plaintiff, who will not receive disability insurance benefits. More broadly, it reflects the legal standards applied to Social Security disability claimants in Oregon who allege mental health and physical impairments but are found capable of performing some available work.
What happens next
Current
Decision issued Aug 21, 2026
Next
Possible rehearing
Parties can ask the same court to reconsider. Then: possible appeal to the circuit court.
View possible path
- Decision issued Aug 21, 2026
- Possible rehearingParties can ask the same court to reconsider.
- Possible appeal to the circuit court
Citizens vs Court
Civitus citizens
Sealed
Take a counted position to open the tally.
District court
Decision issued
Aug 21, 2026
Take a position above to open the comparison.
A comparison of public sentiment with the ruling. Courts are not subject to a citizen mandate, and judges are not elected representatives.
Take action
Courts decide cases; Congress can respond with legislation. Telling your representative is the civic lever here.
Public discussion
Add a tag
Citizen opinion on this ruling, not a rehearing of the case. Similar opinions on this case can open a solution poll.
3 similar opinions open a solution poll
Loading opinions
Deeper context
Long-form analysis, legal background, and source material
Read analysisAnalysis · Source
DEEPER READ
The central question in this case was whether Myriah M. qualified for Social Security disability insurance benefits based on her alleged physical and mental health conditions, including PTSD, major depressive disorder, ADHD, radiculopathy, migraines, and other impairments, with an alleged disability onset date of October 10, 2018, and a date last insured of June 30, 2022. The ALJ conducted the standard five-step disability evaluation. At step two, the ALJ recognized several severe impairments, specifically depressive disorder, anxiety disorder, ADHD, and PTSD. However, the ALJ concluded those impairments did not meet the threshold of a listed, presumptively disabling condition. The ALJ determined the plaintiff could perform medium work with significant limitations, including restrictions on climbing, exposure to hazards, environmental conditions, task complexity, workplace changes, and interaction with the public, coworkers, and supervisors. Because of those limitations, the ALJ agreed the plaintiff could not return to her past work as a server. However, at the final step, the ALJ found she could perform other jobs available in significant numbers nationally, such as hand packager, warehouse worker, and food service worker. Based on this, the ALJ concluded she was not disabled. The federal district court reviewed the Commissioner's final decision and affirmed it, meaning the court found no reversible legal error in the ALJ's analysis. The source text does not describe a dissent or identify specific grounds on which the plaintiff challenged the decision beyond the procedural history and ALJ findings presented.
CITATION AND RECORD
Record source: CourtListener
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF OREGON MYRIAH M.,1 No. 3:25-cv-00789-HZ Plaintiff, OPINION & ORDER v. COMMISSIONER, SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION, Defendant. Lisa Lang Lisa Lang Law LLC 5200 SW Meadows Rd., Suite 150 Lake Oswego, OR 97035 Attorney for Plaintiff Kevin Danielson Assistant United States Attorney District of Oregon 1000 SW Third Avenue, Suite 600 Portland, OR 97204 1 In the interest of privacy, this Opinion uses only the first name and the initial of the last name of the non-governmental party or parties in this case. Where applicable, this Opinion uses the same designation for a non-governmental party’s immediate family member. David Priddy Special Assistant United States Attorney Social Security Administration 6401 Security Boulevard Baltimore, MD 21235 Attorneys for Defendant HERNÁNDEZ, Senior District Judge: Plaintiff Myriah M. brings this action seeking judicial review of the Commissioner’s final decision to deny disability insurance benefits (“DIB”). This Court has jurisdiction pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). The Court affirms the Commissioner’s decision. PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND Plaintiff applied for DIB on December 12, 2023, alleging an onset date of October 10, 2018. Tr. 53.2 Plaintiff’s date last insured (“DLI”) is June 30, 2022. Tr. 53. Her application was denied initially and on reconsideration. Tr. 68, 86. On February 3, 2025, Plaintiff appeared with counsel for a hearing before an Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”). Tr. 34. On March 11, 2025, the ALJ found Plaintiff not disabled. Tr. 30. The Appeals Council denied review. Tr. 1. FACTUAL BACKGROUND Plaintiff alleges disability based on posttraumatic stress disorder (“PTSD”), major depressive disorder, radiculopathy and sciatica of her left lower extremity, retinal migraines, tension headaches, thoracolumbar strain, intervertebral disc syndrome, and a “rib condition.” Tr. 2 Citations to “Tr.” refer to the page(s) indicated in the official transcript of the administrative record, filed herein as Docket No. 8. 206. At the time of her date last insured, she was 36 years old. Tr. 29. She has at least a high school education and past relevant work experience as a server. Tr. 28-29. SEQUENTIAL DISABILITY EVALUATION A claimant is disabled if they are unable to “engage in any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment which . . . has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months . . . .” 42 U.S.C. §§ 423(d)(1)(A), 1382c(a)(3)(A). Disability claims are evaluated according to a five-step procedure. See Valentine v. Comm’r Soc. Sec. Admin., 574 F.3d 685, 689 (9th Cir. 2009) (in social security cases, agency uses five-step procedure to determine disability). The claimant bears the ultimate burden of proving disability. Id. In the first step, the Commissioner determines whether a claimant is engaged in “substantial gainful activity.” If so, the claimant is not disabled. Bowen v. Yuckert, 482 U.S. 137, 140 (1987); 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(b), 416.920(b). In step two, the Commissioner determines whether the claimant has a “medically severe impairment or combination of impairments.” Yuckert, 482 U.S. at 140–41; 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(c), 416.920(c). If not, the claimant is not disabled. Id. In step three, the Commissioner determines whether the claimant’s impairments, singly or in combination, meet or equal “one of a number of listed impairments that the [Commissioner] acknowledges are so severe as to preclude substantial gainful activity.” Yuckert, 482 U.S. at 141; 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(d), 416.920(d). If so, the claimant is conclusively presumed disabled; if not, the Commissioner proceeds to step four. Yuckert, 482 U.S. at 141. In step four, the Commissioner determines whether the claimant, despite any impairment(s), has the residual functional capacity (RFC) to perform their “past relevant work.” 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(e), 416.920(e). If the claimant can perform past relevant work, the claimant is not disabled. If the claimant cannot perform past relevant work, the burden shifts to the Commissioner. In step five, the Commissioner must establish that the claimant can perform other work. Yuckert, 482 U.S. at 141–42; 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(e)–(f), 416.920(e)–(f). If the Commissioner meets their burden and proves that the claimant can perform other work that exists in the national economy, then the claimant is not disabled. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1566, 416.966. THE ALJ’S DECISION At step one, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff had not engaged in substantial gainful activity after her alleged onset date through the date last insured. Tr. 19. Next, at steps two and three, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff has the following severe impairments: “a depressive disorder, an anxiety disorder, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), and posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD).” Tr. 19. However, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff’s impairments did not meet or medically equal the severity of a listed impairment. Tr. 21. At step four, the ALJ concluded that through the DLI, Plaintiff had the residual functional capacity to perform medium work as defined in 20 C.F.R. § 404.1567(c) with the following limitations: She can occasionally climb ladders, ropes, or scaffolds. She can frequently climb ramps and stairs, stoop, kneel, crouch, and crawl. She can tolerate occasional exposure to extreme cold, vibration, and hazards such as unprotected heights and moving mechanical machinery. She can understand, remember, and carry out simple and detailed tasks that can be learned in 30 days or less. She can tolerate occasional changes in a routine work setting. She can tolerate occasional interaction with the general public, coworkers, and supervisors. Tr. 22-23. Because of these limitations, the ALJ concluded that Plaintiff could not perform her past relevant work. Tr. 28. But at step five, the ALJ found that there are jobs that exist in significant numbers in the national economy that Plaintiff can perform, such as hand packager, warehouse worker, and food service worker. Tr. 29. Thus, the ALJ concluded that Plaintiff is not disabled. Tr. 30.
Sources
- Official opinionPrimary record
Public record. Timeline facts only; no accusation of wrongdoing. Advisory citizen opinion does not form a citizen mandate.