A Social Security disability denial was sent back for a new review.
Rosemarie C v. Frank J Bisignano Commissioner of the Social Security
Status and record
Your position
Do you support this decision?
An advisory read. Your position on a ruling is citizen opinion; it does not form a citizen mandate and is never a legal appeal.
Civitus citizens
Take a position above to see how verified Civitus citizens are weighing in. Positions stay sealed until you have one of your own.
The Civitus brief
AI analysis
Plain English
A Social Security disability denial was sent back for a new review.
Why it matters
In Rosemarie C. v. Frank J. Bisignano, Commissioner of the Social Security Administration, a federal magistrate judge in South Carolina recommended reversing the Administrative Law Judge's decision that denied the plaintiff's claim for Disability Insurance Benefits and sending the case back for further administrative review. The ALJ had found the plaintiff was not disabled from her alleged onset date of April 12, 2018, through her date last insured, but the court found grounds to question that conclusion. The Appeals Council had previously declined to review the ALJ's March 2024 decision, making it the final agency decision before this appeal.
Who it affects
This ruling directly affects the plaintiff, Rosemarie C., whose disability benefits claim will receive additional administrative review. More broadly, it is relevant to Social Security disability claimants in South Carolina whose benefit denials are being challenged in federal court.
What happens next
Current
Decision issued Jul 29, 2026
Next
Possible rehearing
Parties can ask the same court to reconsider. Then: possible appeal to the circuit court.
View possible path
- Decision issued Jul 29, 2026
- Possible rehearingParties can ask the same court to reconsider.
- Possible appeal to the circuit court
Citizens vs Court
Civitus citizens
Sealed
Take a counted position to open the tally.
District court
Decision issued
Jul 29, 2026
Take a position above to open the comparison.
A comparison of public sentiment with the ruling. Courts are not subject to a citizen mandate, and judges are not elected representatives.
Take action
Courts decide cases; Congress can respond with legislation. Telling your representative is the civic lever here.
Public discussion
Add a tag
Citizen opinion on this ruling, not a rehearing of the case. Similar opinions on this case can open a solution poll.
3 similar opinions open a solution poll
Loading opinions
Deeper context
Long-form analysis, legal background, and source material
Read analysisAnalysis · Source
DEEPER READ
Rosemarie C. applied for Social Security Disability Insurance Benefits in March 2021, claiming she had been disabled since April 12, 2018. Her claim was denied at the initial and reconsideration stages. After a telephone hearing in December 2023, an ALJ issued a decision in March 2024 concluding she was not disabled during the relevant period. The Appeals Council declined to review that decision in February 2025, and the plaintiff then sought review in federal court. A federal magistrate judge issued a Report and Recommendation concluding that the ALJ's decision should be reversed and the case remanded, meaning sent back to the Social Security Administration for additional review. The source text does not detail the specific factual or legal errors the magistrate judge identified as the basis for remand, because the opinion states it addresses those issues in a discussion section not fully reproduced here. Under the legal standards governing Social Security appeals, a federal court may only ask whether the ALJ's factual findings are supported by substantial evidence and whether the correct legal standards were applied. Substantial evidence is a relatively low bar, described as more than a mere scintilla and enough that a reasonable mind could accept it as adequate support for a conclusion. The court cannot reweigh evidence or substitute its own judgment for the ALJ's, but it also cannot mechanically rubber-stamp the agency's decision. Because this is a Report and Recommendation from a magistrate judge rather than a final order from a district judge, the recommendation must still be reviewed and accepted, modified, or rejected by the presiding district judge before it becomes the court's final ruling. If adopted, the Social Security Administration would be required to conduct further administrative proceedings on the plaintiff's disability claim. No dissent is present in this opinion, as it is a single magistrate judge's recommendation.
CITATION AND RECORD
Record source: CourtListener
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT OF SOUTH CAROLINA Rosemarie C.,1 ) C/A No. 9:25-cv-03489-JDA-MHC ) Plaintiff, ) ) v. ) ) REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION Frank J. Bisignano,2 Commissioner of the ) Social Security Administration, ) ) Defendant. ) ) Plaintiff Rosemarie C. (Plaintiff) filed the Complaint in this action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 405(g), seeking judicial review of the Administrative Law Judge’s (ALJ’s) final decision denying her claim for Disability Insurance Benefits (DIB) under the Social Security Act (Act). This case was referred to the undersigned for a report and recommendation pursuant to Local Civil Rule 73.02(B)(2)(a) (D.S.C.). For the reasons that follow, the undersigned recommends that the ALJ’s decision be reversed and remanded for further administrative review. I. BACKGROUND3 Plaintiff applied for DIB on March 17, 2021, alleging disability beginning April 12, 2018. R.pp. 214–18, 251–53. Plaintiff’s claim was denied initially and upon reconsideration, and Plaintiff then requested a hearing before an ALJ. R.pp. 91–109, 126. A telephone hearing, at which 1 The Committee on Court Administration and Case Management of the Judicial Conference of the United States has recommended that, because of significant privacy concerns in social security cases, federal courts refer to claimants only by their first names and last initials. 2 Frank Bisignano became the Commissioner of Social Security on May 6, 2025. Accordingly, pursuant to Rule 25(d) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Frank Bisignano should be substituted as the defendant in this suit. No further action need be taken to continue this suit by reason of the last sentence of section 405(g) of the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). 3 Citations to the record refer to the page numbers in the Social Security Administration Record. See ECF No. 9. Plaintiff, represented by counsel, and a vocational expert testified, was held on December 11, 2023. R.pp. 47–70. The ALJ thereafter denied Plaintiff’s claim in a decision issued on March 11, 2024, finding that Plaintiff was not disabled from the alleged date of onset through the date last insured. R.pp. 32–41. On February 26, 2025, the Appeals Council denied Plaintiff’s request for review, making the ALJ’s decision the final decision of the Commissioner. R.pp. 1–5. This appeal followed. Because this Court writes primarily for the parties who are familiar with the facts, the undersigned dispenses with a lengthy recitation of the medical history from the relevant period. To the extent specific records or information are relevant to or at issue in this case, they are addressed within the Discussion section below. II. APPLICABLE LAW A. Scope of Review Jurisdiction of this Court is pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). Under § 405(g), judicial review of a final decision regarding disability benefits is limited to determining (1) whether the factual findings are supported by substantial evidence, and (2) whether the correct legal standards were applied. 42 U.S.C. § 405(g); Walls v. Barnhart, 296 F.3d 287, 290 (4th Cir. 2002) (citing Hays v. Sullivan, 907 F.2d 1453, 1456 (4th Cir. 1990)). Accordingly, a reviewing court must uphold the final decision when “an ALJ has applied correct legal standards and the ALJ’s factual findings are supported by substantial evidence.” Brown v. Comm’r Soc. Sec. Admin., 873 F.3d 251, 267 (4th Cir. 2017) (internal quotation marks omitted). “Substantial evidence” is an evidentiary standard that is not high: it is “more than a mere scintilla” and means only “such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.” Biestek v. Berryhill, 587 U.S. 97, 103 (2019). A reviewing court does not reweigh conflicts in evidence, make credibility determinations, or substitute its judgment for that of the ALJ. Hancock v. Astrue, 667 F.3d 470, 472 (4th Cir. 2012). “Where conflicting evidence allows reasonable minds to differ as to whether a claimant is disabled, the responsibility for that decision falls on the [ALJ].” Id. (alteration in original) (internal quotation marks and citation omitted). However, this limited review does not mean the findings of an ALJ are to be mechanically accepted, as the “statutorily granted review contemplates more than an uncritical rubber stamping of the administrative action.” Howard v. Saul, 408 F. Supp. 3d 721, 725–26 (D.S.C. 2019) (quoting Flack v. Cohen, 413 F.2d 278, 279 (4th Cir. 1969)). B. Social Security Disability Evaluation Process To be considered “disabled” within the meaning of the Social Security Act, a claimant must show that she has an impairment or combination of impairments which prevent her from engaging in all substantial gainful activity for which she is qualified by her age, education, experience, and functional capacity, and which has lasted or could reasonably be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than twelve months. See 42 U.S.C. § 423. The Social Security Administration established a five-step sequential procedure to evaluate whether an individual is disabled for purposes of receiving benefits. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520; see also Mascio v. Colvin, 780 F.3d 632, 634–35 (4th Cir. 2015) (outlining the questions asked in the five-step procedure). The burden rests with the claimant to make the necessary showings at each of the first four steps to prove disability. Mascio, 780 F.3d at 634–35. If the claimant fails to carry her burden, she is found not disabled. Lewis v. Berryhill, 858 F.3d 858, 861 (4th Cir. 2017). If the claimant is successful at each of the first four steps, the burden shifts to the Commissioner at step five. Id. At the first step, the ALJ must determine whether the claimant has engaged in substantial gainful activity since her alleged disability onset date. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(b). At step two, the ALJ determines whether the claimant has an impairment or combination of impairments that meet the regulations’ severity and duration requirements. Id. § 404.1520(c). At step three, the ALJ considers whether the severe impairment meets the criteria of an impairment listed in Appendix 1 of 20 C.F.R. part 404, subpart P, or is equal to a listed impairment. If so, the claimant is automatically eligible for benefits; if not, before moving on to step four, the ALJ assesses the claimant’s residual functional capacity (RFC).4 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(d), (e); Lewis, 858 F.3d at 861. At step four, the ALJ determines whether, despite the severe impairment, the claimant retains the RFC to perform her past relevant work. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(e), (f). If the ALJ finds the claimant capable of performing her past relevant work, she is not disabled. Id. § 404.1520(f). If the requirements t
Sources
- Official opinionPrimary record
Public record. Timeline facts only; no accusation of wrongdoing. Advisory citizen opinion does not form a citizen mandate.