A Social Security disability benefits denial was upheld by a federal court.
Tasha G v. Commissioner of the Social Security Administration
Status and record
Your position
Do you support this decision?
An advisory read. Your position on a ruling is citizen opinion; it does not form a citizen mandate and is never a legal appeal.
Civitus citizens
Take a position above to see how verified Civitus citizens are weighing in. Positions stay sealed until you have one of your own.
The Civitus brief
AI analysis
Plain English
A Social Security disability benefits denial was upheld by a federal court.
Why it matters
In Tasha G. v. Commissioner of the Social Security Administration, a U.S. District Court magistrate judge in South Carolina issued a Report and Recommendation concluding that the ALJ's decision denying Tasha G.'s claim for Disability Insurance Benefits should be affirmed. Tasha G. had applied for benefits in May 2021, alleging disability beginning April 20, 2020, but her claim was denied at the administrative level and then upheld on appeal to the district court. The recommendation rests on the standard that a court must uphold an ALJ's decision when correct legal standards were applied and the factual findings are supported by substantial evidence.
Who it affects
This ruling directly affects Tasha G. and her eligibility for federal disability benefits. More broadly, it reflects the legal standards that apply to any Social Security claimant in South Carolina who challenges an ALJ's benefits denial in federal court.
What happens next
Current
Decision issued Jul 29, 2026
Next
Possible rehearing
Parties can ask the same court to reconsider. Then: possible appeal to the circuit court.
View possible path
- Decision issued Jul 29, 2026
- Possible rehearingParties can ask the same court to reconsider.
- Possible appeal to the circuit court
Citizens vs Court
Civitus citizens
Sealed
Take a counted position to open the tally.
District court
Decision issued
Jul 29, 2026
Take a position above to open the comparison.
A comparison of public sentiment with the ruling. Courts are not subject to a citizen mandate, and judges are not elected representatives.
Take action
Courts decide cases; Congress can respond with legislation. Telling your representative is the civic lever here.
Public discussion
Add a tag
Citizen opinion on this ruling, not a rehearing of the case. Similar opinions on this case can open a solution poll.
3 similar opinions open a solution poll
Loading opinions
Deeper context
Long-form analysis, legal background, and source material
Read analysisAnalysis · Source
DEEPER READ
The central question in this case was whether the Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) who denied Tasha G.'s application for Disability Insurance Benefits made a decision supported by substantial evidence and correct legal standards. Tasha G. applied for benefits in May 2021, claiming she became disabled on April 20, 2020. Her claim was denied initially and again upon reconsideration. After a hearing in October 2023, the ALJ issued a formal denial in January 2024, finding she was not disabled during the relevant period. The Appeals Council declined to review that decision in February 2025, making the ALJ's ruling final and allowing Tasha G. to seek review in federal court. The magistrate judge explained that federal courts reviewing Social Security decisions have a limited role. They do not reweigh evidence, make their own credibility judgments, or substitute their view for the ALJ's. Instead, they only check whether the ALJ applied the correct legal rules and whether the findings are backed by 'substantial evidence,' a standard described as more than a bare minimum but not a demanding bar. Where reasonable people could disagree about whether a claimant is disabled, that judgment belongs to the ALJ, not the court. The opinion walks through the five-step process the Social Security Administration uses to evaluate disability claims. That process examines whether a claimant is working, whether she has a severe medical condition, whether that condition meets specific listed criteria, whether she can still perform past work, and finally whether she can do other work available in the national economy. The claimant carries the burden through the first four steps, and only at the fifth step does the burden shift to the government. Based on the record and applicable law, the magistrate judge recommended affirming the ALJ's denial. The source text does not describe a dissenting opinion, and specific details of the medical evidence and reasoning are noted as addressed within the discussion section of the full opinion, which is not fully reproduced here. This is a Report and Recommendation, meaning a district judge would still need to formally adopt it for it to become the final court order.
CITATION AND RECORD
Record source: CourtListener
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT OF SOUTH CAROLINA Tasha G.,1 ) C/A No. 9:25-cv-03220-JD-MHC ) Plaintiff, ) ) REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION v. ) ) Commissioner of the Social Security ) Administration, ) ) Defendant. ) ) Plaintiff Tasha G. (Plaintiff) filed the Complaint in this action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 405(g), seeking judicial review of the Administrative Law Judge’s (ALJ’s) final decision denying her claim for Disability Insurance Benefits (DIB) under the Social Security Act (Act). This case was referred to the undersigned for a report and recommendation pursuant to Local Civil Rule 73.02(B)(2)(a) (D.S.C.). For the reasons that follow, the undersigned recommends that the ALJ’s decision be affirmed. I. BACKGROUND2 Plaintiff applied for DIB in May 2021, alleging disability beginning April 20, 2020. R.pp. 62, 254–58. Plaintiff’s claim was denied initially and upon reconsideration, and Plaintiff then requested a hearing before an ALJ. R.pp. 62, 128–29, 175. On October 11, 2023, Plaintiff, represented by counsel, and a vocational expert testified at a hearing held before the ALJ. R.pp. 83–127. The ALJ thereafter denied Plaintiff’s claims in a decision issued on January 31, 2024, 1 The Committee on Court Administration and Case Management of the Judicial Conference of the United States has recommended that, because of significant privacy concerns in social security cases, federal courts refer to claimants only by their first names and last initials. 2 Citations to the record refer to the page numbers in the Social Security Administration Record. See ECF No. 5. finding that Plaintiff was not disabled from the alleged date of onset through the date last insured. R.pp. 62–77. The Appeals Council denied Plaintiff’s request for review on February 10, 2025. R.pp. 1–7. This appeal followed. Because this Court writes primarily for the parties who are familiar with the facts, the Court dispenses with a lengthy recitation of the medical history from the relevant period. To the extent specific records or information are relevant to or at issue in this case, they are addressed within the Discussion section below. II. APPLICABLE LAW A. Scope of Review Jurisdiction of this Court is pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). Under this section, judicial review of a final decision regarding disability benefits is limited to determining (1) whether the factual findings are supported by substantial evidence, and (2) whether the correct legal standards were applied. 42 U.S.C. § 405(g); Walls v. Barnhart, 296 F.3d 287, 290 (4th Cir. 2002) (citing Hays v. Sullivan, 907 F.2d 1453, 1456 (4th Cir. 1990)). Accordingly, a reviewing court must uphold the final decision when “an ALJ has applied correct legal standards and the ALJ’s factual findings are supported by substantial evidence.” Brown v. Comm’r Soc. Sec. Admin., 873 F.3d 251, 267 (4th Cir. 2017) (internal quotation marks omitted). “Substantial evidence” is an evidentiary standard that is not high: it is “more than a mere scintilla” and means only “such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.” Biestek v. Berryhill, 587 U.S. 97, 103 (2019). A reviewing court does not reweigh conflicts in evidence, make credibility determinations, or substitute its judgment for that of the ALJ. Hancock v. Astrue, 667 F.3d 470, 472 (4th Cir. 2012). “Where conflicting evidence allows reasonable minds to differ as to whether a claimant is disabled, the responsibility for that decision falls on the [ALJ].” Id. (alteration in original) (internal quotation marks and citation omitted). However, this limited review does not mean the findings of an ALJ are to be mechanically accepted, as the “statutorily granted review contemplates more than an uncritical rubber stamping of the administrative action.” Howard v. Saul, 408 F. Supp. 3d 721, 725–26 (D.S.C. 2019) (quoting Flack v. Cohen, 413 F.2d 278, 279 (4th Cir. 1969)). B. Social Security Disability Evaluation Process To be considered “disabled” within the meaning of the Social Security Act, a claimant must show that she has an impairment or combination of impairments which prevent her from engaging in all substantial gainful activity for which she is qualified by her age, education, experience, and functional capacity, and which has lasted or could reasonably be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than twelve months. See 42 U.S.C. § 423. The Social Security Administration established a five-step sequential procedure to evaluate whether an individual is disabled for purposes of receiving benefits. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520; see also Mascio v. Colvin, 780 F.3d 632, 634–35 (4th Cir. 2015) (outlining the questions asked in the five-step procedure). The burden rests with the claimant to make the necessary showings at each of the first four steps to prove disability. Mascio, 780 F.3d at 634–35. If the claimant fails to carry her burden, she is found not disabled. Lewis v. Berryhill, 858 F.3d 858, 861 (4th Cir. 2017). If the claimant is successful at each of the first four steps, the burden shifts to the Commissioner at step five. Id. At the first step, the ALJ must determine whether the claimant has engaged in substantial gainful activity since her alleged disability onset date. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(b). At step two, the ALJ determines whether the claimant has an impairment or combination of impairments that meet the regulations’ severity and duration requirements. Id. § 404.1520(c). At step three, the ALJ considers whether the severe impairment meets the criteria of an impairment listed in Appendix 1 of 20 C.F.R. part 404, subpart P (the “Listings”) or is equal to a listed impairment. If so, the claimant is automatically eligible for benefits; if not, before moving on to step four, the ALJ assesses the claimant’s residual functional capacity (RFC). Id. § 404.1520(d), (e); Lewis, 858 F.3d at 861. The RFC is “the most the claimant can still do despite physical and mental limitations that affect her ability to work.” Mascio, 780 F.3d at 635 (quotation marks and citations omitted). At step four, the ALJ determines whether, despite the severe impairment, the claimant retains the RFC to perform her past relevant work. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(e), (f). If the ALJ finds the claimant capable of performing her past relevant work, she is not disabled. Id. § 404.1520(f). If the requirements to perform the claimant’s past relevant work exceed her RFC, then the ALJ goes on to the final step. At step five, the burden of proof shifts to the Social Security Administration to show that the claimant can perform other jobs existing in significant numbers in the national economy, considering the claimant’s ag
Sources
- Official opinionPrimary record
Public record. Timeline facts only; no accusation of wrongdoing. Advisory citizen opinion does not form a citizen mandate.